All testimonials
  • Michael Gore (South America)
  • Michael Gore (South America)
  • Michael Gore (South America)
  • Michael Gore (South America)
  • Harold Eynav (South America)
  • Harold Eynav (South America)
  • Harold Eynav (South America)
  • Harold Eynav (South America)
  • Harold Eynav (South America)
  • Harold Eynav (South America)
  • Harold Eynav (South America)
  • Harold Eynav (South America)
  • Harold Eynav (South America)
  • Susi Adelin (South America)
  • Susi Adelin (South America)
  • Susi Adelin (South America)
  • Susi Adelin (South America)
  • Sarah Faraidooni (Peru)
  • Cindy Simon (Peru)
  • Peter Cushing (Central America)
  • Peter Cushing (Central America)
  • Peter Cushing (Central America)
  • Peter Cushing (Central America)
  • Peter Cushing (Central America)
  • Anne Salonen (Peru)
  • Anne Salonen (Peru)
  • Anne Salonen (Peru)
  • Karen Lawson (Peru)
  • Karen Lawson (Peru)
  • Karen Lawson (Peru)
  • Karen Lawson (Peru)
  • Karen Lawson (Peru)
  • Karen Lawson (Peru)
  • Joyoti Basu (Peru)
  • Joyoti Basu (Peru)
  • Joyoti Basu (Peru)
  • Joyoti Basu (Peru)
  • Camilla de Atayde (Ecuador)
  • Camilla de Atayde (Ecuador)
  • Camilla de Atayde (Ecuador)
  • Camilla de Atayde (Ecuador)
  • Timur Ozkan (Antarctica)
  • Timur Ozkan (Antarctica)
  • Timur Ozkan (Antarctica)
  • Peter Birkett (Antarctica)
  • Peter Birkett (Antarctica)
  • Peter Birkett (Antarctica)
  • Asdis Baldursdottir (South America)
  • Asdis Baldursdottir (South America)
  • Asdis Baldursdottir (South America)
  • Denise Heimberg (Ecuador)
  • Gregory Ivanov (Chile)
  • Gregory Ivanov (Chile)
  • Fiona Yue (Peru)
  • Fiona Yue (Peru)
  • Fiona Yue (Peru)
  • Fiona Yue (Peru)
  • Susan Ying (Peru)
  • Susan Ying (Peru)
  • Susan Ying (Peru)
Some independent feedback on our trips from past travellers over the years
Genuine photographs provided by our customers
Argentina trip, William Kidd (from Canada) - January 28, 2014
MAURICIO,
Yacuntinga LODGE was fabulous. THE ROOM WAS AMAZYING, KING BED AND JACUZZI. We loved the experience.
Food and service and activities were all exceptional and well organized. Wish we could have stayed longer.
We did get a bit muddy but knew this from staying in other jungle lodges. Wonderful people and get aboriginal people. GUIDES were informative and enjoyed their jobs.
Simply a truly wonderful ecolodge in Iguaza FALLS.
Thank you MAURICIO
Elaine & Bill
Chile trip, John Kotsinonos (from USA) - January 28, 2014
Laura,
The trip was fantastic, if not a bit exhausting for all the right reasons, at times.
Everything was planned to the minute and we were rarely waiting for anything or anyone which was fantastic. Hotel Grey was amazing as was the room. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience and I would gladly use and recommend your service again. Will send a few pictures this weekend as we got a couple good shots.
Again, thank you for your help through the process.
Antarctica trip, Rafael Cohen (from UK) - January 21, 2014
Dear Laura,
We are back to Los Angeles. Let me take this opportunity and thank you for the great trip.
It was a pleasure working with you and having you guarding our backs during the trip.
The choice of hotels and locations were wonderful.
Thanks Again
Rafi
Chile trip, Megan Silva (from Australian) - January 20, 2014
Thank you Laura,
The trip has been fantastic.

Thank you so much for all your efforts, everything has gone just as planned. The accommodation everywhere has been good, the Bonaparte Hotel in particular has been excellent. Nice rooms and very helpful staff. Huilo Huillo was spectacular and they were very helpful in organising tours, we especially loved the. Trip to the glacier on the volcano. The cruise was great, and the San Rafael Glacier was beautiful and the lagoon and icebergs phenomenal.

Patagonia was windy, but very beautiful, and the view from the hotel spectacular. Thank you for organising such a varied view of Chile.

Most especially thank you for making the changes we asked for and responding to our wishes and delays cheerfully and promptly.

Regards
Megan

Mexico trip, Pearce Pang (from Hong Kong) - January 20, 2014
Dear Sandra,
Hope you are doing fine!

This was my first time visiting Mexico, I had not even visited any central american countries before that’s why I feel anxious but yet nervous about the trip planning. I was searching for different companies who has experience with the arrangement for single traveller who doesn’t speak spanish and finally I picked Latin Discover because of the exceptional consulting service offered by Sandra Benavides!

The trip was well managed and everything was followed by the plan. I didn’t need to worry about the logistic and accommodation, and the local tour company always picked me up on time. What I needed to do was just to enjoy the trip! I felt really satisfied in visiting the mayan cultural places that I was longing for many years, I made friends with local people and visitors from other countries who share the same joy as mine, I tried the local mexican food and the made in mexico coca-cola, I went to the parties in Cancun, I saw the UFOs, etc. It made an unforgettable trip in my lifetime.
I will definitely come back to Latin Discover for my next trip. Here is one of the pics I took in Chichen Itza.
Best regards,
Pearce Pang

Argentina trip, William Kidd (from Canada) - January 20, 2014
Hi Mauricio,
Simply having a fabulous time in Argentina.  Really enjoyed Buenos Aires, tango shows, going to Argentine experience, and all the sites in the city.  We stayed at the Sheraton in Buenos Aires and it was exceptional.  Flew to Iguaza Falls after making a bee'line from the wrong airport ' stupid tourists.

The tour company here in Iguaza has bent over backwards for us and is fantastic!  thank you!  We have enjoyed both sides of the falls, night walks, exceptional food and service, wild boat rides, etc.  Such a magnificent place and so non commerialized.  Just getting ready to head into the lodge for a few days.  Will have lots of pictures to send to you and bring when we come to Costa Rica.

Every thing is perfect!  We are so happy!  A little hot though but not like Alberta which was minus 40 celius when we left.  Will need to brush our teeth three times a day at the lodge why_' to avoid getting jungle mouth If we survive the wild animals, horrific snakes, killer bees, mischievous monkeys, and boiling heat then I will send you another email until them - TALLY HO,

Bill and Elaine

Chile trip, Berry Ferdinand (from Trinidad & Tobago) - January 17, 2014
Hi Laura,

Everyone was happy with your selection of events. your service was great , pity we did not have the previledge of meeting you. i would recommend you to any interested party from T&T should the opertunity arise.

Thanks to all involved in making our visit to your country a memorable one.

Peru trip, Aniela Nastase (from USA) - January 15, 2014
Sandra,
We wish you Feliz Navidad!
We had a great time in Peru and everything was perfect ! ... Thank u!
Costa Rica trip, Narciso De Carreras (from España / Spain) - January 10, 2014
Hola Mauricio;

Ya de vuelta al día a día, os paso un breve resumen del viaje a Costa Rica que nos organizasteis.

El viaje a Tortuguero como llegada a Costa Rica es largo pero todo fue bastante como un reloj. Dado el entorno en medio del parque natural, el hotel está muy bien, y la excursión en canoa para llegar es espectacular. Es un muy buen aterrizaje al país para ver la naturaleza exuberante de los parques, y en el hotel tienes acceso al canal y también a la playa (aunque ya nos indicaron que era muy peligroso bañarse en la playa).

El primer día, en la tarde cuando se llega, te organizan una excursión en los jardines del mismo hotel que son ya un parque en si mismo.

Al día siguiente nos llevaron en canoa por los canales durante unas 2 o 3 horas, y tuvimos la suerte (no sucede siempre por lo que nos dijeron) de ver todo tipo de fauna. Estuvo muy bien y los guías estuvieron muy amables y atentos. La salida de Tortuguero otra vez en canoa ya es otra excursión, y en Guapiles a la hora prevista nos entregaron el jeep. El viaje al Volcan Arenal son unas 3 horas de carretera que está bien y sin problemas.

El hotel Tabacon está espectacular, servicio muy atento, unas piscinas de aguas termales únicas, y la noche de fin de año habían montado un buffet familiar que estaba muy bien en la zona de las termas.

Nos organizaron desde el hotel al día siguiente una excursión sobre puentes colgantes alrededor del volcán que nos gustó mucho y es ideal para la edad de nuestros hijos (9 y 7 años). Los guías son la verdad muy didácticos y están preparadísimos.

EL volcán estaba cubierto de nubes así que no lo vimos en su “plenitud” ya que nos tocaron un par de días un poco cubiertos y lluviosos, pero es lo normal por la época del año.

Finalmente el JW Marriot de Guanacaste. Hotel más tipo resort a la americana pero fantástico, muy grande, variedad de restaurantes y una piscina ideal para los niños. Tienen además un Club Kids donde nuestros hijos no han parado de hacer actividades, y una playa para pasear y hacer largas caminatas que está muy bien.

La clientela del hotel es eminentemente americana (nos dijeron que como el 80% de sus clientes vienen de USA), pero al margen de algún grupo más organizado de más edad, eran familias americanas de un cierto nivel, con niños, etc…

Cerca del hotel, a unos 10mn caminando por la playa hacia el sur está el Club Hacienda Pinilla (que tiene campo de golf y un club de playa con piscina enfrente de una playa fantástica de mucha actividad surfera).

Conocimos en el hotel del volcán Arenal a unos brasileños que alquilaban un villa en Hacienda Pinilla y estuvimos bastante por ahí. Como residentes en el JW Marriot teníamos acceso sin problemas al club de playa (no al contrario, los que se alojan en villas de la Hacienda Pinilla solo pueden ir a cenar al hotel), y la verdad es que está muy bien. Muy recomendable la opción de alquilar villas en la Hacienda Pinilla para vacaciones de familia de más días, una o dos semanas (las villas tienen servicio de hotel si se desea, y están equipadísimas con piscina, etc…).

EN Guanacaste nos hizo un tiempo muy bueno, sol todo el día, y al estar el hotel orientado al pacífico las puestas de sol son fantásticas.

La vuelta a Son José en coche fueron 4 horas y media, carretera buena a pesar de las obras de construcción y mejora de las vías (se nota que entramos en año electoral en Costa Rica….).

Muchas gracias Mauricio por la gestión de guardarnos las maletas en San José estos días, se hubiese hecho complicado viajar con tantas maletas en este viaje (sobretodo en las canoas de Tortuguero!).

Enfin, un viaje muy ameno, fácil y agradable, y todo ha salido como previsto sin ningún contratiempo particular.

Gracias por todo.
Hasta pronto.
Narcís

Mexico trip, Arnis Bolmanis (from Latvia) - January 7, 2014
Dear Sandra,

Our this year holiday trip was successful. It took two weeks in Mexico and one in Cuba. I could not imagine there are so many evidences on ancient civilization in Mexico. Very impressive monuments are there, but a lot of them are still undiscovered. Now we are full of bright and impressive memories - about certain places what we visited, nature, country and people living there. Everything went smoothly!
Best Regards,
Arnis

Costa Rica trip, Eric Trachtenberg (from UK) - January 7, 2014
Dear Mia,
I wanted to thank you for doing such an amazing job on our trip to Costa Rica!
As an experienced individual traveler, I was worried about having a pre-arranged trip – but the preparations were simply outstanding in every way.
Now I know what Latin Discovery has such high ratings on BBB and Tripadvisor. I am now one of the converted!
Have a wonderful 2014.
Best Regards,
Eric 
South America trip, Hanoch Ben-David (from Israel) - January 6, 2014
Hi Laura

We had a wonderful trip! All the transfers and guides you organized for us worked very well and really no complaints at all.

The hotels were the right standard. Regarding our special dietary/food requirements Hotel Las Torres went out of their way to accommodate us with fresh salads, fish and potatoes cooked in aluminium foil. You can see my review on Tripadvisor under my 'pen name' hbendav. Everything I have to say about the hotel is in the review!

Hotel Poincenot. Very friendly staff and great location. I have submitted a review on Tripadvisor.

The Quijote Hotel was also fine: I am sure you know it is an excellent location bang in the middle of town and only 20 min from the Laguna Jimez.
I am attaching a few photos for you too.
Thanks for helping put it all together.
Regards,
Hanoch

Peru trip, Sheila Jasanoff (from USA) - December 10, 2013
We booked a ten-day trip to Peru in July 2011 through Latin Discover. We received a degree of personal attention from our representative, Mauricio Guzman, that far exceeded our expectations. Our itinerary was carefully tailored to address our specific preferences. Mauricio added several details that made our package feel truly unique, including a personalized reading packet before we left the US and a welcome dinner in Lima, in the company of two delightful young archaeologists eager to share their insights and knowledge.

Booking at the slightly higher private rate turned out to be extremely worthwhile for us. Throughout our fairly complicated tour, we received flawless service. Tour representatives met and transferred us punctually at each location and provided detailed instructions about the next stage in our travels.

The hotels were without exception comfortable and well appointed.  The Sol y Luna in Urubamba and the Inkaterra Macu Picchu Pueblo in Aguas Calientes stood out for their blend of designer rooms and great food with exceptional natural settings.

As busy academics, we appreciated having free and easy internet access everywhere. Our guides and drivers were competent and attentive. From start to finish, the entire trip went without a hitch.  Mauricio himself was always on call to answer questions by e-mail.

We’ll be looking for opportunities to plan another trip to South America with Maurizio and his colleagues.  We enthusiastically recommend Latin Discover.

Sheila & Jay Jasanoff
 

South America trip, Michael Gore (from Australia) - December 6, 2013
Hi Paul and Elisabeth;

I wish to take a few minutes of your time to give you feedback on Mauricio. I first contacted Mauricio in February or March this year when I was planning a trip to Machu Pichu. Mauricio always replied to my emails within 24 hours and provided me with all the information I required. I may add that I have travelled extensively, I know what I want and am very particular about quality and standards and also value for money.

Mauricio gave me a very satisfactory quote fot the trip I required and also made adjustments to suit my personal needs and requests (such as changing hotels to my choice and providing changes requested such as wanting additional day at Machu Pichu so that I could see the sunrise. Mauricio also provided me with additional advice such as that as an Australian I am required to pay a reciprocity fee to travel to Argentina and that I would require a visa to visit Brazil.

When I had difficulty getting the Brazilian visa in time for my journey from Australia, Mauricio advised me that I could apply for this at Iguazu falls even informing me that the Brazilian consulate office was within a 5 minute walk from our hotel. As the visa was not available in time for us to visit the Brazilan side of Iguazu falls I called Mauricio and within 2 hours he called me back and had made adjustments to the tours, obtained a refund and added this to an additional private tour of Cusco. His service has been nothing short of extraordinary. He has always been very prompt and reliable, respectful and most courteous.

I will not hesitate in recommending your travel service and in particular Mauricio to my friends who will be travelling to South America.

I wish that you will reward Mauricio for his world class service to me and please pass on my sincere thanks to him for all he has done for me.

Thank you for your time.
Kind regards
Michael and Ann Gore

Costa Rica trip, Walter Sperlich (from Germany) - December 3, 2013
Hello Mia,
The accommodation during our hike of Parque La Amistad/Valle del Silencio at the community was very charming and nice. Both the guides, Erika and Herold, were very kind and supplied us with lots of useful information. All in all we were lucky to have made the trip but afterwards we would shorten it to a 3 days hike. Landscape and the jungle were very nice but all the mammals were obviously too shy.